Scientific Council

We are honored to be guided by some of the greatest scientific minds in the world. Comprised of leading experts in chemistry, advanced materials, and energy, these scientists help inspire our team and keep us focused on developing products that have a real and sustainable impact.

  • Dr. James L. Dye

    Council Chairman and SiGNa Co-Founder
    Dr. James Dye is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University, and the only chemist in Michigan to be awarded membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

    During his career, Dr. Dye discovered two new classes of compounds: the alkalides and the electrides. His research provided new insight into the nature of these compounds, greatly improving our understanding of the species formed when alkali metals dissolve without oxidation.

    At age 70, Dr. Dye received the highest award given for Inorganic Chemistry in the United States, the American Chemical Society National Award in Inorganic Chemistry. His distinguished career has resulted in more than 225 research papers, including publications in Science, Nature and the Journal of the American Chemical Society.
  • Dr. Robert H. Grubbs

    Council Member
    Professor Robert Grubbs is a leading American chemist and a Nobel Laureate. He is currently the Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, where he has been a faculty member since 1978.

    His research group has been primarily focused on olefin metathesis reactions using ruthenium-based catalysts, which have found wide applications in organic and polymer synthesis. He has written more than 450 publications and been awarded more than 90 patents based on his research.

    Professor Grubbs has received a Nobel Prize in Chemistry and the Linus Pauling Award. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, was an American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow, and an Honorary Fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • Dr. Galen D. Stucky

    Council Member
    Professor Galen D. Stucky is a world-leading inorganic materials chemist. He is the E. Khashoggi Industries, LLC Professor in Letters and Science at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he has been a professor of chemistry and materials since 1985. Prior to joining the UCSB faculty, he held positions at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Sandia National Laboratory, and DuPont.

    Professor Stucky’s research currently focuses on organic/inorganic interface chemistry. He has published more than 630 scientific papers and holds more than a dozen patents.

    His honors include a von Humboldt Senior US Scientist Award, the American Chemical Society Award in the Chemistry of Materials, the International Mesostructured Materials Association Award, and election to fellowship in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • Sir John Meurig Thomas FRS

    Council Member
    Sir John Meurig Thomas is a leading British chemist and educator who is well known for his work with the design of new heterogeneous catalysis, solid-state chemistry, and surface and materials science.

    He taught and researched for 20 years before taking up the Headship of Physical Chemistry at the University of Cambridge. In 1986, Sir John became Director of the Royal Institution of Great Britain, where he held the Chair created for Michael Faraday.

    Sir John is now Honorary Professor in Materials Science at Cambridge. His work in solid-state chemistry, and with the design of new catalysts, has earned him numerous awards, including the Linus Pauling Gold Medal, and the Willard Gibbs Gold Medal of the American Chemical Society. Sir John was knighted in 1991 for his service to the field of chemistry and popularization of science.